First Listen: Willie and the Giant – Poor Boy


Birthed from an obsession with the Stax sound of the ’60s, upstart Nashville soul purveyors Willie and the Giant have released their first single, “Ain’t Gonna Wait” with the b-side “Poor Boy.”

Taken from their self-titled debut to be released in 2015, Willie and the Giant’s quartet of Will Stewart (vocals), Grant Prettyman (bass), Mac Kramer (drums) and Jon Poor (guitar) is backed by Matt Slocum on organ and the Chad Fisher Group on horns, creating a slow, timeless groove on “Poor Boy.”

Stream the slinking blue-eyed b-side “Poor Boy” below and pre-order the two songs on 7-inch vinyl via Cumberland Brothers Music.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on RedditDigg thisPin on PinterestEmail this to someone