Download: We’re All Criminals Here (A Tribute to Uncle Tupelo)

CriminalsAs they ready the new Dexateens album, the good people at Cornelius Chapel Records have curated a four-song tribute to Uncle Tupelo in celebration of their 25 years of influence. A 75/25 split, We’re All Criminals Here finds Two Cow Garage, Empty Orchestra and Have Gun, Will Travel erring on the Tweedy side of the Jeff/Jay debate, with Colorado’s Drag the River residing in the Farrar camp.

Drawing from 1992’s March 16–20, 1992 and 1993’s Anodyne, the four songs on We’re All Criminals Here are played close to the vest. Two Cow Garage adds some bounce to “We’ve Been Had” while Empty Orchestra turns the finger-picked “Wait Up” into a groggy lament. Have Gun, Will Travel and Drag the River are both faithful to “The Long Cut” and “Shaky Ground,” respectively.

Stream We’re All Criminals below and download the collection here.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on TumblrShare on Google+Share on RedditDigg thisPin on PinterestEmail this to someone